Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 46

Thread: New AeroLED Landing Lights

  1. #11
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by hawgdrvr View Post
    Looks awesome. Where did you have the parts for all of that made?
    I contacted Jim, at Engravings Unlimited, to make all of my new labels. They are up in Yakima, and make all of the factory stuff for CubCrafters. That made everything look like it was factory work.

    I just told him what I was looking for, added a few drawings, and he knocked them right out for me. Usually received them within a couple days of finalizing the piece.

  2. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    FL001
    Posts
    150

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Great info, thanks for sharing. Yours looks like it's from the factory.

  3. #13
    Senior Member turbopilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    516

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Graham View Post
    This is where I added the new 15A circuit to power the landing lights:
    Based on the specifications each light draws 7.5 amps, so a 15A CB is cutting close. That is a lot of amps to draw in a cub. They must be bright. What gauge wire did you run out in the wings?
    Bob Anderson, CC11-00435, N94RA

  4. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by turbopilot View Post
    Based on the specifications each light draws 7.5 amps, so a 15A CB is cutting close. That is a lot of amps to draw in a cub. They must be bright. What gauge wire did you run out in the wings?
    Ryan at AeroLED's told me that each light would be approximately 6.7 amps. When I checked the load, it was 6.6 on pulse, and 13.3 amps on constant. I ran 14 gauge wire.

    You need four wires from each light to the wing root, and three wires down the pillar to the panel. The harness I made brings four wires across the top, connecting the lights, and then pigtailed three wires off of that. Obviously a ground wire, a hot for on, hot for pulse, and a signal wire that sequences the wig wags.
    Attached Images Attached Images

  5. #15
    Senior Member turbopilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    516

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Graham View Post
    Ryan at AeroLED's told me that each light would be approximately 6.7 amps.
    Thanks Bruce. Last time I tried to string wires in the wings it turned out to be a bigger project than I thought.

    Lets us see the lights on the V cabane when you get them done.
    Bob Anderson, CC11-00435, N94RA

  6. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by turbopilot View Post
    Thanks Bruce. Last time I tried to string wires in the wings it turned out to be a bigger project than I thought.

    Lets us see the lights on the V cabane when you get them done.
    The trick was using a fish tape to pull a pair of pull strings through first, then using each one to pull a pair of 14 gauge wires. I did it by myself in probably an hour per side, but you could do it with a helper in 15 minutes.

  7. #17
    Senior Member turbopilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    516

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by Bruce Graham View Post
    The trick was using a fish tape to pull a pair of pull strings through first, then using each one to pull a pair of 14 gauge wires. I did it by myself in probably an hour per side, but you could do it with a helper in 15 minutes.
    Exactly my technique. Did you in front of the tanks or aft?
    Bob Anderson, CC11-00435, N94RA

  8. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Location
    Castle Rock, CO
    Posts
    41

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Quote Originally Posted by turbopilot View Post
    Exactly my technique. Did you in front of the tanks or aft?
    I was in front of the tanks, just behind each rib. Really easy to gain access through the black mesh that's glued over each rib at the wing root.

  9. #19
    Senior Member turbopilot's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    La Quinta, CA
    Posts
    516

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Bruce, I assume you are using the original DPDT Toggle Switch for switching between wig wag and landing lights. I don't have a parts manual reference for the FX-3 but the part number for this switch in the CC11 parts manual is SP93102-033. I assume the same switch is used in both the FX-3 and SS. This appears to be a CubCrafters part number so I can't find it as source from the vendor.

    Did you check to see whether this switch is rated for 15 amps or did you source another switch?

    Also did you source the new 15 amp CB from the main bus rather than the EXT Main Bus. The EXT Main Bus has its own 10 amp CB before the original landing light CB?
    Last edited by turbopilot; 11-16-2020 at 07:41 AM.
    Bob Anderson, CC11-00435, N94RA

  10. #20
    Senior Member Rick Bosshardt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Mesa, AZ
    Posts
    590

    Default Re: New AeroLED Landing Lights

    Super nice finish work, Bruce! That placard came out perfect!
    Rick


    Rick Bosshardt
    SunCountry Cubs
    CubCrafters Dealer for AZ/NM/UT/CO/southern WY
    www.suncountrycubs.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •