Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Executive Glass-IFR?

Default Executive Glass-IFR?

Pardon my ignorance, but I'm new to the forums and have just started researching planes in order for a new purchase within the next year. I'm a Navy pilot who is just now getting into personal flying, and am looking at everything from taildraggers to small Cessnas. I've watched the videos and snooped on this forum a bit, and think I've found a winner!

That said, I would never want to encounter IMC without being legal but would like a little backup if I find myself within a small cloud bank or wanting to practice my instrument landings. So, does anyone flying with the Executive Glass panel on this forum practice IFR flying in VFR conditions for proficiency, or would I have to add in some equipment after market in order to make it minimally capable? I know the executive glass has a attitude gyro and the GDU-370/375, but want an HSI/CDI for at least GPS approaches, if not VOR/ILS capability.

What do you guys think? Thanks!

Also, I am out of Seattle and will try and make an appt. to come out to Yakima to try my hand at one of these... Looking forward to meeting some of you guys. Cheers!

The Villages, FL (06FD, Grass Roots Airpark)

Default Re: Executive Glass-IFR?

Welcome, Tim.

No ignorance. You ask a good question.

The short answer is that you can buy enough electronics to give you enough displays to use a simulated cross check on a replicated instrument panel (of sorts) in simulated instrument conditions. All of your nav stuff will be GPS based so VOR/ILS stuff won't be available. Trying to do what you are asking in a CarbonCub or SportCub will be very unfulfilling. The airplanes are just not designed for it. In fact, these airplanes are best enjoyed by looking out the windows or the occasional open door otherwise you will miss seeing the bald eagles flying with you.