Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Possible future floats on FX3?

  1. #1
    Member hawgdrvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    80

    Question Possible future floats on FX3?

    I've been watching a lot of videos lately on float plane flying (Cubs) and it sure looks interesting. While it's not in my near future, what needs to be ordered and what's the cost so that a FX3 can take floats at a later date? Would be nice to build a plane so that it's future is not limited by me or whomever owns it later.
    Neal
    FX3 On Order (May 2021)
    Richmond, VA

  2. #2
    Senior Member chipallen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    775

    Default Re: Possible future floats on FX3?

    Float kit - call me tomorrow.

    Chip Allen

    SWT Aviation, Inc.
    Cubcrafters Southeast Sales Center
    Marietta, GA

  3. #3
    Member hawgdrvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Possible future floats on FX3?

    Thank you. I was/am confused by the part under the float kit option:

    Airframe upgrade / high GW amphib floats
    Neal
    FX3 On Order (May 2021)
    Richmond, VA

  4. #4
    Senior Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    115

    Default Re: Possible future floats on FX3?

    Quote Originally Posted by hawgdrvr View Post
    I've been watching a lot of videos lately on float plane flying (Cubs) and it sure looks interesting. While it's not in my near future, what needs to be ordered and what's the cost so that a FX3 can take floats at a later date? Would be nice to build a plane so that it's future is not limited by me or whomever owns it later.
    I'm rated single engine sea and I went through the same thought process. The only requirement for adding amphib floats later is to have the aft attach points reinforced. I think this is a $2k mod that adds about 4 lb. I eventually decided that I was not likely to ever put my FX-3 on floats and that I was building the airplane for me not the next owner. My understanding is that the mod is not required for straight floats.

    If you fit amphibs you need a gear control panel. That would fit in the hole to the left of the GDU 465 display but, on my airplane, that hole is used for a G5.
    Last edited by Andy; 10-29-2020 at 07:13 AM.

  5. #5
    Member hawgdrvr's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    80

    Default Re: Possible future floats on FX3?

    Good info. Thanks Andy. Was just a thought but that thought has come and gone. Interesting how YouTube showed me a video of a float plane fly-in at the lake I used to take my boat! Someone is behind this!
    Neal
    FX3 On Order (May 2021)
    Richmond, VA

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Plymouth, MN
    Posts
    6

    Default Re: Possible future floats on FX3?

    Neal,
    ive got the float kit on mine. Cost was $2500 and weight is 8lbs. Itís just the frame reenforcement.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •