Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 16 of 16

Thread: Autopilot or not

  1. #11
    Senior Member Springloaded's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    jupiter FL.
    Posts
    691

    Default Re: Autopilot or not

    Have you considered the safety involved in a AP. I use mine regularly when the weather is less then favorable. Lets you look for towers and such with you having to worry about flying the airplane. That was one of the first things I put on my plane before I went to AK. I once flew into a cloud in the mountains at low altitude. I decided the safest thing to do was climb. 15-20 min later I broke out on top at 8000í. Unfortunately my auto pilot was broke. I hadnít flown IMC in years. I had to convince my self to trust my instruments which was extremely difficult because I never use them. It wasnít fun and I would have given anything for my AP. I ended up at 11000í to stay on top. I got a pop up IFR and got back down 2 1/2 hrs later. So my point is one day you might just need it to get out of a bind. Things happen fast sometimes and youíll wish you had one.
    Chuck
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by Springloaded; 11-02-2018 at 05:36 AM.
    Chuck Kinberger
    Southern Cubs
    Florida Cubcrafter Sales
    Jupiter Fl.
    Pa11890ck@gmail.com
    You can sit at home & hear the News or get out there & be the News

  2. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Location
    Sun Valley, ID
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Autopilot or not

    Quote Originally Posted by Springloaded View Post
    Have you considered the safety involved in a AP. I use mine regularly when the weather is less then favorable. Lets you look for towers and such with you having to worry about flying the airplane. That was one of the first things I put on my plane before I went to AK. I once flew into a cloud in the mountains at low altitude. I decided the safest thing to do was climb. 15-20 min later I broke out on top at 8000í. Unfortunately my auto pilot was broke. I hadnít flown IMC in years. I had to convince my self to trust my instruments which was extremely difficult because I never use them. It wasnít fun and I would have given anything for my AP. I ended up at 11000í to stay on top. I got a pop up IFR and got back down 2 1/2 hrs later. So my point is one day you might just need it to get out of a bind. Things happen fast sometimes and youíll wish you had one.
    Chuck
    You make a great point!

  3. #13
    Senior Member Jon Delamarter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    204

    Default Re: Autopilot or not

    Here at the factory, we frequently hear people say, "An autopilot? In a Cub? That's nuts!". My standard response is, "Make one cross-country flight of an hour or more in one of our Cubs with an autopilot and tell me what you think." Without exception, they come back and say something like, "I'll never own another airplane without an autopilot."
    Jon Delamarter
    Customer Support Manager
    Cub Crafters, Inc.
    jond@cubcrafters.com
    Office (509)367-5200
    Cell (509)833-6993

  4. #14
    Senior Member ceslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Carterville, IL
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Autopilot or not

    Darn, can't find the "LIKE" button . . . . .

  5. #15
    Senior Member c130jake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    182

    Default Re: Autopilot or not

    How hard is it to retro fit the garmin servos after the build?. I have the wiring rolled up behind the left side panel.

    Where do the servos mount and what type of connection to the cables do they use?

    EX1 with G3x touch.

    Jake

    Sent from my SM-G930V using Tapatalk
    Jake
    Finished CCEX N96FV!

  6. #16
    Senior Member ceslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Carterville, IL
    Posts
    375

    Default Re: Autopilot or not

    Jake

    Here is a post on installing the autopilot servos.

    Control is with the G3X, so no additional box is needed.

    Putting in the servos should be doable. Wiring could take some effort although if a harness is already in place it will make life easier. You will need appropriate panel switch / breaker for servos and kill switch on stick

    Spent some time this past Saturday exploring the autopilot functions and fine tuning it. It is a pretty impressive and capable system. Surprisingly I had not paid much attention to the autopilot until recently; now I am really glad it is there. Going forward I suspect it will get used a lot.

    Iím sure Mitch can give you some good guidance

    Chuck

    http://forum.cubcrafters.com/showthr...ll=1#post14253
    Last edited by ceslaw; 11-20-2018 at 05:01 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •