Thread: Building in the living room and covering with Oratex

Default Building in the living room and covering with Oratex

Hello Carbon Cub builders,

a complete newbie here, hoping to clarify some questions regarding building a Carbon Cub. This would be my first-time build and my experience is limited to a fabric covering and riveting workshop in Oshkosh...

For the last few years I've been thinking about building an airplane but mainly due to space constraints in my home/garage, it wasn't possible. I also couldn't find any other space nearby to rent and I'm pretty sure that building it in or near my house will raise the acceptance for the project in the family and thus the chances of finishing it.

A few days ago, I've stumbled upon this video about a gentleman in Anchorage, who has built his CC in his extended living room:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7rTI2tj2WWk
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l_i-SHZbqi8

I could extend my house with a similar room, but the size would be limited to 19.55 x 12.27 feet.

A few questions:

1. Does the fuselage and wing fit into the above mentioned room with 1-2 ft to spare on one side? I realize a small space will not speed things up and make some steps more cumbersome. But is it doable?

2. From the (Polyfiber) covering course I remember the odor being very strong, not something I'd like to have near the living room. Oratex seems to solve this. Does anyone have experience with it? I realize that the look isn't quiet the same - especially the lighter colors seem to be a bit more transparent. How about durability and repairability?

3. Regarding noise and odors. Can I do most of the riveting with a (pneumatic?) squeezer or do I need to use the gun a lot? Are there any other steps that are noisy or create odors that I need to be aware of?

Thanks in advance for any thoughts.

Miklos
    Last edited by miklos; 05-20-2018 at 12:13 PM.

Default Re: Building in the living room and covering with Oratex

Miklos,

Great questions.