Thread: Reports of a Carbon Cub Rookie

Default Reports of a Carbon Cub Rookie

Although I’m not active here, another member suggested I post this here in addition to the original forum, as there are always pilots that haven’t had a chance to experience the CC, and in particular the FX/EX-3. pb

Reports of a Carbon Cub Rookie

If you’ve spent a bunch of time in J3’s and low powered SuperCubs in particular, and even traditional 150/160hp PA-18’s, you’ll find that one flight in a CubCrafters Carbon Cub doesn’t allow your brain to even come up to V1 speed. It’s not until you have spent some time, ....and I mean some meaningful time.... in the front seat of an SS, FX/EX or XCub, that you begin to actually understand them.

As an 18-95 driver, I was pretty comfortable trudging along with the door open at 85-90 mph on little 29’s and plopping in and out of all sorts of off-airport spots. But when you climb into a Carbon Cub for the third time, you begin to understand the knee-jerk reaction of wanting to slide the seat more forward. Although you’re already in the perfect position for stick, rudder, throttle and panel, you’ve got space.

It’s wide, it’s long, and it’s about to get your adrenaline on.

A SuperCub driver isn’t used to having air space between them and the panel, or maybe I should say, the sheer volume of space around you. In a PA-18, typical leanback cushion-to-panel distance is about 30”, and width is 24-25”. As you strap into an EX/FX, you’ll find a full 30” of elbow room and looking out over the slope of the curved top cowl you’ll begin to see that this animal is not wearing the same color spots as the one you’re used to. Add in a little more headroom, and we are talking about some air volume again. If you’ve ever thrown a leg up over a muscular horse that stood a few hands taller, or straddled a big harley loaded for the road, you begin to get a sense that this machine is maybe a little bit greater than you are, so are you a cowboy, or just a rider?