Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Cooling the Carbon Cub

Default Cooling the Carbon Cub

The Carbon Cub Stroker 340 runs hot. Those with the Executive Panel know all about the problem with the excellent engine monitoring on the Dynon. Those who do not have engine monitoring only have oil temperature as a guide to engine temperatures. Oil temperature in the Carbon Cub runs low even while cylinder head temperatures are running high. So relying on oil temperature is very misleading in the Carbon Cub.

I have had some experience both in homebuilts and store bought airplanes getting temperatures down. So along with California Cubs and help from Randy Levold at CubCrafters we are beginning the process to evalutate the engine temperatures in the Carbon Cub. Since we are in Southern California we experience some of the greatest extremes of +ISA temperatures, so this is a good place to do hot weather testing.

To begin the test program we are doing some base leveling testing and documentation then plan to move on to look at some quick fix mods then ultimately looking at possible redesign of the cowl, if that is necessary. Right now we are going to focus on quick fix modifications. Randy and the folks at CubCrafters will have to wrestle with redesign of the cowl if the quick fixes don't work.

A program like this needs some goals. My goal would be to see the Carbon Cub be able to climb at maximum continuous power for 5 minutes while keeping all CHT's less than 380 dF up to atmospheric conditions of +15 dC ISA. I have no doubt if we can attain this goal the airplane will cruise in the same range of OAT's at most power settings without any cylinder exceeding 380 dF.

Why 380 dF goal? Most folks (except the engine manufactures) consider 380 dF CHT's or less to afford the most protection to the cylinders and associated engine components to allow the engine to reach TBO. Here is a slide from the Advanced Pilot Seminar that speaks to this issue.