Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: G3X Issue Solved

  1. #1
    Super Moderator
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Edgewood, Texas
    Posts
    208

    Default G3X Issue Solved

    Last week my G3X flashed X's all over the screen and then went blank and rebooted in flight. The next day it just rebooted inflight.

    Thanks to Jon Delamarter for his help in contacting Garmin for the solution. Turned out to be a corrupt data card. Garmin suggested flying with the data card removed. After 3 hours flying on 2 flights, it ran normally. Bought new data cards and problem solved. I did learn from the G3X manual that Garmin recommends using 3 separate cards for flight data, database updates and software updates.


    Thanks Jon for the quick response and solution!!!


    Jon
    CC #333

  2. #2
    Senior Member ATXCubDriver's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2014
    Location
    Austin, TX
    Posts
    195

    Default Re: G3X Issue Solved

    Quote Originally Posted by txcub View Post
    Last week my G3X flashed X's all over the screen and then went blank and rebooted in flight. The next day it just rebooted inflight.

    Thanks to Jon Delamarter for his help in contacting Garmin for the solution. Turned out to be a corrupt data card. Garmin suggested flying with the data card removed. After 3 hours flying on 2 flights, it ran normally. Bought new data cards and problem solved. I did learn from the G3X manual that Garmin recommends using 3 separate cards for flight data, database updates and software updates.


    Thanks Jon for the quick response and solution!!!


    Jon
    CC #333
    Great info to know about the G3X for future reference. Thanks for posting this Jon.
    Mike Sasser
    Boomerang Air
    mike@boomerangair.net

    OK,AR,TX,LA
    www.cubcrafters.com




  3. #3
    Member marcusadolfsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: G3X Issue Solved

    I have seen this happening as well. Most recently the G3X refused to boot (just showed the Garmin logo and the spinning arrow), until I removed the SD Card. I emailed Garmin, as it is pretty poor programing if a corrupt SD card can cause a crash.
    N80DB #119 E-LSA / G3X Touch

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    Yakima WA
    Posts
    15

    Default Re: G3X Issue Solved

    Fwiw,

    It is not required by the G3X system to have a card in the display while operating, unless of course you wanted to take screen shots or do data logging. Once software or databases are loaded they are stored within the system, so leaving a card in the display is not going to change anything in that regard.

    When I do software or database updates here, I will format the card before I load anything onto it and then load it into the G3X, have never had an issue with corrupt files or cards not wanting to load.

    Thanks much

    Mike Sutton
    Cubcrafters Avionics
    Last edited by mikesutton; 08-29-2017 at 10:06 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •