Thread: Cherry Rivets for Wing Ribs

Default Cherry Rivets for Wing Ribs

As a newbie I wish to check the Cherry Rivet Size for the 1/8 in rivets described only on Page 58 of the wing manual as HDW-SS/SS42D Rivets.
    There is nothing labelled as such in the CCK Wing Tote 2 box.

I have checked the Cherry Max website to understand the Cherry rivet numbering system.
    http://www.cherryaerospace.com/docs/...gs/CA-1011.pdf

From deduction, I guess I have two choices from the larger inventory 1/8 in rivets supplied in the Tote box 2.
    either HDW-CR3212-4-2 (supplied 92ea) which is countersunk and to me most likely - but no countersunk application is shown and grip is marginal.
    or HDW-CR3213-4-4 (supplied 102ea) which is flush, but too long in grip in the main spar

Since I am working in a critical area, which rivet is to be used?

Default Re: Cherry Rivets for Wing Ribs

Quote Originally Posted by karaka29211 View Post
    As a newbie I wish to check the Cherry Rivet Size for the 1/8 in rivets described only on Page 58 of the wing manual as HDW-SS/SS42D Rivets.
    There is nothing labelled as such in the CCK Wing Tote 2 box.

I have checked the Cherry Max website to understand the Cherry rivet numbering system.
    http://www.cherryaerospace.com/docs/...gs/CA-1011.pdf

From deduction, I guess I have two choices from the larger inventory 1/8 in rivets supplied in the Tote box 2.
    either HDW-CR3212-4-2 (supplied 92ea) which is countersunk and to me most likely - but no countersunk application is shown and grip is marginal.
    or HDW-CR3213-4-4 (supplied 102ea) which is flush, but too long in grip in the main spar

Since I am working in a critical area, which rivet is to be used?
    Those are stainless steel rivets. They should have come in a HUGE bag (like 500 or something) and not in a tote. They are not cherry max. I think they were used on the leading edges as well. If you have extended fuel, they are in that tote.