Thread: Covering tools

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post

Default Covering tools

I'm just getting started on covering and was wondering if anyone has a preferred list of tools. I bought a hobby iron that is garbage, and my ski wax iron doesn't get hot enough per my digital thermometer.

What size needle do I need to stitch the tail feathers? Do they need to be curved?

Scissors; I have a couple new Fiskars pinking shears and normal shears. Do I need a rotary pinking sheer like I see on the videos? Speaking of videos, I've been watching the Stewart System videos and Mitch's. Any other good sources you can think of?

Thanks in advance,
    Gregg
    Last edited by GreggG; 11-18-2016 at 06:04 PM.
    Carbon Cub EX CCK-1865-0092

Default Re: Covering tools

Quote Originally Posted by GreggG View Post
    I'm am just getting started on covering and was wondering if anyone has a preferred list of tools. I bought a hobby iron that is garbage, and my ski wax iron doesn't get hot enough per my digital thermometer.

What size needle do I need to stitch the tail feathers? Do they need to be curved?

Scissors; I have a couple new Fiskars pinking shears and normal shears. Do I need a rotary pinking sheer like I see on the videos? Speaking of videos, I've been watching the Stewart System videos and Mitch's. Any other good sources you can think of?

Thanks in advance,
    Gregg
    Gregg, remember that the irons won't read correctly if you shoot them with the gun onto their shiny surface. It will read much lower. You have to either put a piece of masking tape onto the iron and then shoot the tape to get a good reading or put a scrap piece of fabric over it and pull very tight. The problem with the fabric is that is has to be pulled across the surface until its very tight against the iron to read correctly. The masking tape works much better.