Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: Zaon XRX Now in My Carbon Cub

Default Zaon XRX Now in My Carbon Cub

Inspired by other posts on the forum I decided to put a Zaon XRX into my Carbon Cub. By way of background I have been flying a Cirrus SR22 since 2003 with a Skywatch 497, an active collision avoidance system. The Skywatch active systems work very well in the Cirrus rarely missing threat traffic around the Cirrus. When I first started flying the Carbon Cub I found my self startled at times to see traffic nearby without any warnings. You get really spoiled having a TCAS watching out for you. In the later model SR22's the traffic is actually called out for by clock position just like a controller when it is a threat.

I decided to install the Zaon XRX myself since my Carbon Cub is an E-LSA. I ordered the PCAS XRX directly from the Zaon website since their price seemed to be the lowest. I also ordered a XRX Bare Wire Power/Data Cable. More about that below.

The installation was not hard though I am concerned with the placement of the unit. The PCAS XRX has a built in magnetometer. The magnetometer is used to keep traffic oriented on display devices when the aircraft turns between successive "paints" of the target. Unfortunately all the good mounting locations for the PCAS XRX are right near steel structural tubes which throw off the magnetometer. I finally placed the unit in the best place to see traffic but the targets are jumping around when I turn because the magnetometer is seeing interference from the structure.

I mounted the PCAS XRX using industrial strength Velcro and one tie wrap for extra insurance. The unit is so light the industrial strength Velcro easily holds the unit securely in place. I have see other installations that use a metal tray to hold the unit in place which is problematic since the PCAS XRX would be shielded from transponder replies in any direction where the metal was in the way.