Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Instrument redundancy

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    7

    Default Instrument redundancy

    Is there a redundant ASI, VSI, altimeter if the Garmin G3X fails?

  2. #2
    Member marcusadolfsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    Not in the default G3X install, but some owners have put airspeed and altimeter gauges where the autopilot head goes.

    In my plane I just look out the window if the G3X goes blank
    N80DB #119 E-LSA / G3X Touch

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    Would they fit below it?

    had recently an issue with Dynon skyview going blank leaving me w/o flight instruments.

  4. #4
    Member marcusadolfsson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    85

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    IMG_1517.jpg

    Pic of my panel. Below is too tight.
    N80DB #119 E-LSA / G3X Touch

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Atlanta, GA
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    Tnx. Looks as if you can install where the palcard is.

  6. #6
    Senior Member c130jake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    Here is what I did

    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
    Jake
    Finished CCEX N96FV!

  7. #7
    Member Treetopflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Baton Rouge, La.
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    James, it looks like you mounted your com remotely....was it difficult to find room for it? When I build my CC, I'm planning on doing the same thing.

  8. #8
    Senior Member c130jake's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    I put the radio below the xpdr, not the best photo. I used heavy duty velcro and a strap so it is easily removeable. The radio weighs next to nothing. A better man could make a bracket to attach to the xpdr bracket.

    I had looked at putting it in the seat base. The nice thing about the remote xpdr and radio, you can put anywhere.



    Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk
    Last edited by c130jake; 01-02-2016 at 04:44 PM. Reason: Update
    Jake
    Finished CCEX N96FV!

  9. #9
    Member Treetopflyer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Baton Rouge, La.
    Posts
    40

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    Looks good! I installed my transponder behind the luggage compartment bulkhead in my RV but I mounted the Com behind the panel. Yeah, you're right, the remote mount equipment sure does make it nice to be able to mount things where you want to. In my RV I have more room to work than you guys do in a CC but I'm just trying to see how you guys are mounting your equipment so that I'll have a better idea how to do it when I build my CC....which hopefully won't be long!! On a slightly different note, has anyone used the VPX solid state breaker system? If so, where did you mount it.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  10. #10
    Senior Member ceslaw's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    Carterville, IL
    Posts
    384

    Default Re: Instrument redundancy

    Mitch was kind enough to set up the panel with the ASI and Altimeter in place of the autopilot control. I am still partial to steam gauges.

    DSC_0226.jpg

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •