Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

  1. #1
    Senior Member stede52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carnation, WA
    Posts
    198

    Default Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    Got a question for those of you that installed the Garmin trim position indicator for the horizontal stab, I'm trying to figure out if that can be used with the Dynon Skyview. I'm skeptical but I thought I'd ask, I also can't find the part number of the unit on the Garmin site, does anyone have it?
    Steve Dentz
    N419LD
    Carnation, WA

  2. #2
    Senior Member chipallen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Marietta, GA
    Posts
    745

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    I just did some repair work on a customer airplane's Trim Position Indicator. The signal for the indicator comes from a string potentiometer. Any of the CCEX or CCEX-2 builders (or Mitch) should be able to give you the part # for the pot.
    Chip Allen
    SWT Aviation, Inc.
    Cubcrafters Southeast Sales Center
    Marietta, GA
    www.swtaviation.com

  3. #3
    Senior Member stede52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carnation, WA
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    Thanks Chip
    Steve Dentz
    N419LD
    Carnation, WA

  4. #4
    Senior Member Pete D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    936

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by stede52 View Post
    Got a question for those of you that installed the Garmin trim position indicator for the horizontal stab, I'm trying to figure out if that can be used with the Dynon Skyview. I'm skeptical but I thought I'd ask, I also can't find the part number of the unit on the Garmin site, does anyone have it?
    The string pot used with the G3X system is not a Garmin p/n. It will work with the Skyview system. Mitch should be able to get you the make/model/p/n and maybe even the CC bracket and hardware to make it a bolt-in.
    Pete Dougherty
    R & D Shop Manager
    Cub Crafters Inc

  5. #5
    Senior Member stede52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carnation, WA
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    Thanks Pete, I guess Mitch is casing elk around the country this week. I left a message for Dave Lake to get back to me.
    Steve Dentz
    N419LD
    Carnation, WA

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Rowe, NM; St. George Island, FL; Montgomery, AL
    Posts
    123

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    I have a stupid question: CCSS 267; Skyview and Garmin (executive glass?). My trim indicator has been to look back at my tail. Do I have an electronic one?

    Thanks in advance...Jim

  7. #7
    Senior Member Pete D's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    936

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by Jim Harper View Post
    I have a stupid question: CCSS 267; Skyview and Garmin (executive glass?). My trim indicator has been to look back at my tail. Do I have an electronic one?

    Thanks in advance...Jim

    It would be possible to add one to the Skyview, some were installed with it, some were done without the trim indicator. It would be a string pot back by the jack screw and wires from there to the SkyView to add it.

    Look in the SkyView manual to find out where the trim indicator would be on the screen to see if you have it or not. Or look in the slot behind the jack screw for a little string pot just above the trim motor and the string going up to the back side of the aluminum yoke. Should be able to see it with a flashlight without taking any covers off if it is there.
    Pete Dougherty
    R & D Shop Manager
    Cub Crafters Inc

  8. #8
    Senior Member stede52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carnation, WA
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    The only thing I found in the Dynon installation manuals had to do with setting up RAC servo trim motors which wouldn't work on the yoke.
    Steve Dentz
    N419LD
    Carnation, WA

  9. #9
    Senior Member Jon Delamarter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    Yakima, WA
    Posts
    206

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    We use a string potentiometer made by Celesco. We add a pigtail harness and list it as Cub Crafters part number SC81022-001.

  10. #10
    Senior Member stede52's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Carnation, WA
    Posts
    198

    Default Re: Garmin Trim Position Indicator

    Quote Originally Posted by Jon Delamarter View Post
    We use a string potentiometer made by Celesco. We add a pigtail harness and list it as Cub Crafters part number SC81022-001.
    Thanks Jon, I dropped by Dynon today and gave them the specs on the unit, they said they would look into it and give me a call back. I'll post what I find out.
    Steve Dentz
    N419LD
    Carnation, WA

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •