Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Experience required?

Default Experience required?

Hello all. I'm exploring building an EX...my question is what experience does one need to build one? I'm comfortable with automotive (mechanical and electrical) work.

Thanks
    R
    Eric

Default Re: Experience required?

Eric,

I am also in the process of building an EX and I can tell you it is one of the best kits on the market. You really don't fabricate this kit you assemble it. If you have basic skills you will have no problems. Also, the support from the factory is excellent when you do have questions. Go through the builders forum and you will see some builds in process. You won't be disappointed!

MR

Eric,

I have zero experience and my build has been going better than I expected. Mitch the kit mgr is great. Parts are excellent. I would take a tour of the factory if you can. If you do decide to build, take a covering course offered by the EAA of you have zero fabric experience like me.

It's been fun building so far. I finished paint and fabric in Sept and am now trying to wire the ship. Once that's done, final assembly.

Good luck,

Jake

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Jake
    Finished CCEX N96FV!

I forgot, the EAA web has a ton of "hints for homebuilders" short videos. Everything from drilling out a rivet (important skill) to rib stitching a wing. Great resource for the novice.

Jake

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    Jake
    Finished CCEX N96FV!

Eric. I found the weekend EAA Sport Air Workshops to be a great help in learning many of the new skills associated with building a CC EX!

I've taken both Sheet Metal Basics and Fabric Covering and am scheduled for Electronics and Avionics this Feb. Nothing like having and expert show you how to set up and work a new tool, or get a piece of fabric to lay down around a wing tip! Here is the EAA workshop web site. http://www.eaa.org/en/eaa/aviation-e...kshop-schedule

good luck. Chip