Thread: CCEX Build Time

Default CCEX Build Time

We all know there's a huge range for build time. It's not uncommon to see builders taking years and 1000's of hours to complete their build. This was a big consideration for me when I was looking at kits and after comparing several I felt that Cubcrafters would give me the best support and ultimately the shortest build time. I'm a first time builder and the entire project, including paint has been done in my 3-car garage. I'm now at the point of installing my panel and engine and following that, I'll be moving it to the airport for final assembly and rigging.

So having said all that, I thought it might be helpful or at least interesting for prospective CCEX builders to know how my build has gone. Here's my time logged thus far.....

Wing Assembly: 185
    Fuselage : 128
    Extended Baggage: 21
    Covering: 165
    Rib Lacing: 40
    Tapes: 92
    Poly-Brush:58
    Poly-Spray: 25
    Paint Prep/Primer: 28
    Final Paint Coats (Poly Tone): 77
    Assemblies and Finish: 11

Total time to date: 830 Hours

I know some builders out there will have gotten this far in less time, but for a first-time builder, I'm pretty happy with the time it's taken specially when I factor in the learning curve. My target has been a 1,000 hours or less and I'm thinking I'll hit it.

Default Re: CCEX Build Time

Thanks for posting the times Paul. I kept track of mine in Excel entering the time and area I worked on. I was right in that 800 hour range too. And that was in an 11 month time period. I worked on it nearly everyday, some days both before and after my regular work day.
    Flying Carbon Cub EX #11 since 2011

Quote Originally Posted by Dan L View Post
    Thanks for posting the times Paul. I kept track of mine in Excel entering the time and area I worked on. I was right in that 800 hour range too. And that was in an 11 month time period. I worked on it nearly everyday, some days both before and after my regular work day.