Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 27 of 27

Thread: ELT Placement

  1. #21
    Senior Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    Quote Originally Posted by jmorrical View Post


    In simple terms I did use pin 41 on my G3X connector and a solder sleeve to ground the shielded there.

    Don't forget that the GDU 465 must be configured to give the required data format on RS-232 port 5. I don't know what the default is but I assume your ELT will want NMEA 183 at 4800 Baud (check ELT specification).

  2. #22
    Senior Member jmorrical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    I just watched the G3X installation video Mitch did on an EX3. Near the end he talked about installing the Artex 345 ELT. The two wire switch was mounted vertically and aft of the light fixture on the right header. He said he wasn't sure about clearance and might have to rotate it horizontally after he put in a new header. I want to avoid that.

    Here is what I saw. It looks like the flap arm with the threaded fitting on this EX3 is redesigned and much longer then my EX1. Don't know how it came out. Interesting.

    Screen Shot 2021-01-15 at 10.14.08 PM.jpg
    Last edited by jmorrical; 01-15-2021 at 10:21 PM.
    Jim Morrical

  3. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    The question still remains from a previous post - how to wire the shield and ground at the ARTEX connector. From the drawing it looks like you have two wires that go to pin 7 (a ground wire and the shield wire). Do you join these two wires before it goes into the connector?

  4. #24
    Senior Member Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Glendale, AZ
    Posts
    188

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    Quote Originally Posted by stautz View Post
    The question still remains from a previous post - how to wire the shield and ground at the ARTEX connector. From the drawing it looks like you have two wires that go to pin 7 (a ground wire and the shield wire). Do you join these two wires before it goes into the connector?
    Depends on the size of the wires and the size of the connector pin. It will make no difference whether the splice is at the pin or a few inches away from it. If the pin won't easily accept two wires then the easiest way may be to splice both the shield pigtail and the ground wire to the shield with a solder sleeve and then take the pigtail to pin 7.
    Last edited by Andy; 01-19-2021 at 09:41 PM.

  5. #25
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    Littleton, CO
    Posts
    24

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    Still waiting to see if there is room for the switch just aft of the light on right header. If you know, please respond.

  6. #26
    Senior Member jmorrical's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    The Woodlands, TX
    Posts
    132

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    I've been hoping someone would give their experience about placing the two wire switch for the Artex 345, but since nobody has Iím moving on. I have decided to mount my two wire switch on the right header just aft of the cockpit light switch. My planned cut out is shown in the first photo.

    I am building an EX1 not an EX2/3 so there may be differences I don't know. I have wondered about clearance from the compression tube at the wing root and flap push rod when wings are installed. What convinced me this right header location would work was comparing the two wire switch with the extended bus bar on the left wing. Seems about the same position and depth so Iím betting itís OK.

    IMG_3135.jpg


    Here's how it looks installed.

    IMG_3138.jpg



    IMG_3140.jpg
    Last edited by jmorrical; 01-22-2021 at 10:49 PM.
    Jim Morrical

  7. #27
    Senior Member Dan L's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Montana
    Posts
    656

    Default Re: ELT Placement

    I donít have a light but thatís just about where I put mine. Thatís low enough so it is out of the way of the flap actuator.

    hopefully you never need it.
    Flying Carbon Cub EX #11 since 2011

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •