Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Altimeter Replacement

  1. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph206 View Post
    Hi Seastar,
    This is the same altimeter that comes with the plane that has failed numerous times.
    I also know of other planes with this altimeter failing.
    Sorry about that. I didnt know what the factory was using.

    The only mechanical instrument I have is a additional 2 1/2" airspeed I had the factory add.
    IMHO airspeeds should be analog.
    So far its still working.

    I have a Dynon pannel so everything else is digital except the mechanical compass.
    CarbonCubs shake so bad at some RPMs that its a wonder anything lasts.
    Thats one of the prices we pay for the performance we get.
    Bill

  2. #12
    Senior Member Joseph206's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Liberty, NY
    Posts
    107

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by seastar View Post
    Sorry about that. I didnt know what the factory was using.

    The only mechanical instrument I have is a additional 2 1/2" airspeed I had the factory add.
    IMHO airspeeds should be analog.
    So far its still working.

    I have a Dynon pannel so everything else is digital except the mechanical compass.
    CarbonCubs shake so bad at some RPMs that its a wonder anything lasts.
    Thats one of the prices we pay for the performance we get.
    Bill
    Bill,
    You should have your prop dynamically balanced. ( I think That is what they call it) at 2000 RPMs.
    It will help the Shake 100 percent.

  3. #13
    Member kiwibob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    81

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph206 View Post
    This is the same altimeter that comes with the plane that has failed numerous times.
    I also know of other planes with this altimeter failing.
    Hi Joseph,

    The failed unit was a Mid-Continent MD15. This was the original equipment fitted to the factory.

    It's well over $4000 so you'd hope for better!
    Bob Gray, FX-3 #38, ZK-FXC

  4. #14
    Member kiwibob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    81

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by Joseph206 View Post
    You should have your prop dynamically balanced. ( I think That is what they call it) at 2000 RPMs. It will help the Shake 100 percent.
    Hi Seastar,

    I've had mine done and it certainly does damp the vibration. I've still had a false spar on the port wing break (in two places) due I presume to the prop wash and screws work loose regularly.

    There are certainly rpm's that give worse vibration, but I do try to avoid them but screw. Clearly this is a problem for the avionics.
    Bob Gray, FX-3 #38, ZK-FXC

  5. #15
    Senior Member EVRoosevelt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Wilsonville, AL
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    Joe:
    I have not used this altimeter but it should have a warranty, the ones that I buy are on Ebay and if they go bad I throw it away and by another.
    EV

  6. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Indianapolis
    Posts
    278

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    I've had my prop balanced 3 times. Its pretty good at 2250 rpm where it was last balanced.
    Anyplace else it shakes.

    We have a lightweight, limber airframe with a high horsepower four cylinder engine that is inherently unbalanced.
    The engine is coupled go a low mass prop that does not provide much flywheel damping.
    That makes for a "flexable flyer". That is probably part of the current tail wire problem.

    I watch the aileron wires and adjust rpm so that they don't vibrate. That seems to work pretty well.
    In any case, all of this provides out of sight performance and so far, reasonable safety.
    Cubcrafters has been good about spotting the things that break (with our help) and fixing them.
    There haven't been very many considering the low age of the airframe.
    Bill

    PS:
    I sure will be happy to get back in the air----------
    my CJ isn't that much fun.
    Last edited by seastar; 01-22-2014 at 04:32 PM.

  7. #17
    Member kiwibob's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    81

    Default Re: Altimeter Replacement

    Quote Originally Posted by EVRoosevelt View Post
    I have not used this altimeter but it should have a warranty, the ones that I buy are on Ebay and if they go bad I throw it away and by another.
    Seems that MGL Avionics have the jump on the others with a three year limited warranty as opposed to the one year offered by both Mid-Continent and Winter. Hopefully their confidence is not misplaced but since it's a fraction of the price of the alternatives even if it doesn't last it's a better option.
    Bob Gray, FX-3 #38, ZK-FXC

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •