Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Advice on Landing method

Default Advice on Landing method

I need some advice from CC pilots. I have 500 hrs in a CESSNA 206, but only 20 hrs in the Carbon Cub SS. No previous tailwheel a/c.

What do you think of my target speeds, flap positions, ect? This is my current landing set up.

Pattern Height 1000' AGL, wind less than 5 mph

Downwind, 1,000'
    60 mph
    20 degrees flaps

Base 500'
    50 mph
    30 degrees flaps

Final 300'
    45 mph
    Full Flaps
    1250 rpm

Default Re: Advice on Landing method

Those sound like good numbers to me if I'm looking at GPS ground speeds in a no wind condition. My airspeed indicator is off quite a bit as I get slow. And that's at a DA of 3000' or so. I have no experience at sea level in my EX.

My my pattern height is more like 500' at our uncontrolled field.
    Flying Carbon Cub EX #11 since 2011

I take a simpler approach. On downwind I pull back power to drop the airspeed to 70, and than add full flaps. This takes the airspeed to about 50. Then I adjust power to maintain the glide path, and elevator/trim to slow down to about 40 on final (+ or -).
    Chuck Hull
    L70 Agua Dulce, CA

Quote Originally Posted by Charles View Post
    I take a simpler approach. On downwind I pull back power to drop the airspeed to 70, and than add full flaps. This takes the airspeed to about 50. Then I adjust power to maintain the glide path, and elevator/trim to slow down to about 40 on final (+ or -).

I like this approach, thanks. I will try this and report back.