Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Jake's CarbonCub build.

Default Jake's CarbonCub build.

Hi everyone,

I thought I would start by reintroducing myself and what I would like to see in this string.

I am a first time builder with no maintenance background except a 6 week ejection seat tech school in 1982. I remember how to use a torque wrench and safety wire and that is about it. My dad was an aircraft mechanic in the 1950's in AK working on C-47's and anything else laying around. He spent the next 25 years as a maintenance controller and retired from the Air Guard. I am a former navigator (F-4, C-130) and just retired as C-130 pilot from the reserves. I fly semiprofessionally for a former crop dusting outfit that merged with my former employer. Currently an A320 copilot. Dad got his PPL at 58 and is still flying his PA28 at 82 and has been a big help so far.

I decided on the CarbonCub after a year of research and advice from a super cub owner and AP/IA mechanic. (he has 2 PA18's and a J3) The factory tour and demo ride clinched it. (most expensive 0.6 I have ever flown)

I am close to finishing the first wing after only a month. Since there doesn't seem to be a clearing house for building issues on this forum, I was going to use my build as a place folks can post heads up on problems with the manual or kit. (like not reading ahead or a bad part reference) or offering techniques to help inexperienced guys like me. (a consolidated source if you will) I know some folks have older kits and manuals and it is a work in progress. I hope to make building a CC as painless as possible for everyone and make the CC even better. (and maybe cut down on Mitch's phone bill)

One thing I have learned in 30 years around aviation, it's less painful to learn from others mistakes than your own. If I do mess up, I also found it's best to fess up so others may learn.

Jake

I know there is a ton of expertise and opinions, so don't hold back.

Default Re: Jake's CarbonCub build.