Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: BRS and Carbon Cub

Default BRS and Carbon Cub

I am a Cirrus owner and pilot wanting to put the fun back into my flying. That is why I am considering CC. I did a search regarding the Ballistic Recovery System on this forum to if there were any posts but was unable to find. I know the factory does not list this as a factory installed option but are there any owners out there that have installed the BRS?
    Thanks

Default Re: BRS and Carbon Cub

Carbon Cub stalls at 32 MPH (27KT) and its illegal to fly in IMC. Wing is really strong. Add at least 50 LB for a parachute system? To check it out, I would start with BRS. They would most likely know if they have put one in a Sport Cub or Carbon cub.

Even though it was a good question, why would you want a parachute when you can land almost anywhere at such a low speed? The extra weight would definitely affect performance defeating the whole concept of the Carbon Cub. Its a different way of flying that coming from a Cirrus that will maybe take some adjustment to. BRS would be pointless. I hope you do put the fun back in your flying with a Carbon Cub guarantee you will have an everlasting smile!
    Geo
    Piper Cub J3
    www.cubdriving.com

Quote Originally Posted by jalexbell View Post
    I am a Cirrus owner and pilot wanting to put the fun back into my flying. That is why I am considering CC. I did a search regarding the Ballistic Recovery System on this forum to if there were any posts but was unable to find. I know the factory does not list this as a factory installed option but are there any owners out there that have installed the BRS?
    Thanks
    This is a good topic. I have many years of Cirrus ownership, and am trained and confident in BRS use and merits. It somehow seems like all aircraft should be BRS equipped. Pilots that don't have exposure to BRS usually don't have that attitude.